The Start

Introduction

Hi! My name is 200mA and I make IDM and experimental electronic music. Recently I started a new project where I attempt to make a full length album with just a Casiotone MT-100 keyboard. I do allow things like resampling the sounds and adding audio effects. This blog is mainly about my adventures making this album, from start to finish. I’ll also try to talk about things like promotion, marketing and budget.

The star of the show

The Casiotone MT-100 is a fairly old Casio keyboard, it was sold in the mid 1980s. I picked mine up at a thrift store for around 10$. It has built-in drum patterns and 20 different sounds. You can use the onboard EQ to make a lot of other different sounds though. It is exactly what you expect from the cheap Casio keyboards: cheesy, but fun to play. The software I will use is Ableton Live. This will mostly be used to arrange and multi-track the sounds, but also to add some effects like chorus, delay and reverb.

The future

I plan to release this album around the beginning of next year. This may seem like a long time, but I still have to make all the songs, make a tracklist, promote and all that. From time to time I will release small teasers from songs, so you will know what to expect. I’ll try to update this blog every week so you guys have a clear view of my progress. Wanna be notified about new blogposts? You can like me on Facebook here!

-200mA

Leave a Reply

